Iris Malina

Iris | In Greek mythology, Iris (/ˈɨrɨs/; Ἶρις) is the personification of the rainbow and messenger of the gods. She is also known as one of the goddesses of the sea and the sky [...] She travels with the speed of wind from one end of the world to the other, and into the depths of the sea and the underworld. Malina | The slavic word for raspberry

Usisya

Kategori: Malawi

A 6-12 hour boatride, in small rickety local wooden boat, or and absolutely terrifying 3 hour dirt road north of Nkhata Bay lies Usisya.
 
Just the name, Usisya, is magic, and the actual place even more so.
 
Usisya...
 
It is a little hostel of sorts, with two shacks made of straw and grass, and a few tents. And a tiny little kitchen, with one happy cook. It is a little oasis right on the beach, with hammocks and simple seating under a huge mango tree, from which ripe mangoes tumble down, hitting the thatched roof underneith, making delicious thumping noises.
 
It is not in any guide book, and it does not make advertisements of any kind. So if you find it, you are very lucky. And I was. And I fell totally in love with it. Instantly. 
 
A place for contemplation and peace.
 
Usisya.
 
 
 
 
 
 

I met God, and she was a woman

Kategori: Malawi

 
In Senga Bay, on the western shore of Lake Malawi, I met God. Emilie God to be more precise. A wonderful, inspiring world solo traveller woman. We travelled up the lake shore together, in a crammed bus with no seats for us, and vomiting children. And we ended up at Kande Beach, ridiculously pretty Kande Beach. Where there are horses. And finally, I could live my (almost) life long dream of canter on a beach, and then swim with horses. You can see on my face just how incredibly happy I am!
 
Emilie has a website, about women empowerment around the world, check it out here; http://projet-honorine.com (translated from french with google translate).
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The name of this beautiful horse is Pavarotti

A short update

Kategori: Malawi

Long time no see! I finished my project in Zomba two weeks ago, with some promising results and now im out backpacking (without computer, which makes blogging a bit of a hassle) for a bit. Safari, lazy days on the beach and plenty of good food! Right now, I'm in Nkhata Bay on the shore of Lake Malawi.. i find it difficult to leave..
 
Anyway, two weeks from now Ill be home!
 

South Luangwa National Park

Kategori: Malawi

Okay, so when in Africa, right? I went on a proper safari. Four days, big park, sleeping in safari tents, Land Rovers - the whole package. And it was niiiiicee!
 
Sunrise from the camp, over Luangwa River
 
Breakfast, 05:30. Feels like Scouternas Patrullriks all over again.
 
Sleepy leopard
 
Thornicroft's giraffe
 
Crawshay's Zebra, as opposed to common zebra
 
Crocs!
 
 
 
Some kind of rainbow bird!
 
Young Simba looking himself in the mirror
 
 
 
Tea time!
 
Finally a beer that is not Carlsberg Green!
 
Yup, elephant pretty much IN the bar!
 
And then the rains started!
 
 

Hair, hair, hair. Flow it, show it, long as I can grow it, my hair!

Kategori: Malawi

 
Salong Monalisa on a saturday morning
 
Braid made of braids, simply awesomeness!
 
"Hair, hair, hair. Flow it, show it, long as I can grow it, my hair!"
 
 
I have wanted braids a long time. Even more so since I got here, especially since it here is something I can afford. But I have seen people who do not look good in braids, especially wazungu (i.e white people), I was afraid it would look really dorky. But hey, it is worth a shot right?
 
So I went to the market, bought six bags of syntetic hair, surprisingly close to my own hair colour. And then, this saturday, I got up at 07:00 to spend the whole morning in a real african hair salon. It took four solid hours, and up to four women were working on my hair at one time. 
 
‘Does it hurt?’ you ask, and the answer is yes it does. But not as bad as I anticipated. And it was fun to see all the other hair styles that the other women got. Malawian hair does not grow long and straight by itself like mine does, and most women (especially rural) keep their hair very short. As does the men. But with status and western ideas, comes expectations. And many women braid in extensions, like the ones I have, or attach a whole hairdo out of a package with needle and thread, and others simply wear a wig. Or spend a fortune on chemicals for keeping the hair straight. I do not know what to think really. As so often, and like at home, the pressure of looks is heavier on women than on men. And I don't like it.
 
But my braids? Yeah, I love them!