Iris Malina

Iris | In Greek mythology, Iris (/ˈɨrɨs/; Ἶρις) is the personification of the rainbow and messenger of the gods. She is also known as one of the goddesses of the sea and the sky [...] She travels with the speed of wind from one end of the world to the other, and into the depths of the sea and the underworld. Malina | The slavic word for raspberry

Surprise, change of plans!

Kategori: Malawi

My little office
 
The view from my little office
 

"Welcome to Chanco, home of academic freedom"

 

Today I got a brief tour of the university campus, where I will spend most of my time here. It is Chancellors Collage, the largest campus out of four, which together constitutes to University of Malawi. I met my supervisor for the first time, Dr Samson Sajidu, and got settled in a little office with a nice view. I now have access to internet, however quite slow.

I got a tour of the chemistry laboratories where I will conduct my experiences. I am quite intimidated, I find chemistry quite hard as it is.. but I suppose after this experience I will be ace at water chemistry! It is a nice campus, with red brick buildings, and it is very close to my house. The walkways around and between the buildings all have solid roofs, and I am told that is because in the wet season, the rain is so intense that otherwise you would be unable to move around.

Not so surprisingly, my project plan is already a subject of revision. The river which I hoped to study is currently affected by major road works outside town, and possibly dammed. In which case, a study there would be a waste of everyones time. I will find out tomorrow, when I will get a tour of the surroundings by Samson.

 

Kommentarer

  • Pappa säger:

    Låter spännande och intressant, vi sitter och undrar i vilken regi som du du gör projektet, är det SIDA eller uppsala universitet eller både och(eller nåt annat)?

    2014-09-10 | 17:44:44

Kommentera inlägget här: