Iris Malina

Iris | In Greek mythology, Iris (/ˈɨrɨs/; Ἶρις) is the personification of the rainbow and messenger of the gods. She is also known as one of the goddesses of the sea and the sky [...] She travels with the speed of wind from one end of the world to the other, and into the depths of the sea and the underworld. Malina | The slavic word for raspberry

Malin's Adventure Travels

Kategori: Malawi

Back in April, when I first got the MFS-scholarship, Johan and Emil promptly decided to come and visit me in Malawi. A good excuse to go somewhere unlikely, and a revenge to the New Zealand trip that never happened. ‘Of course’ I said, but since I was convinced something would inevitable screw up, and my whole trip unexpectedly be cancelled, I could not imagine it would at all work out, and they (and me) actually get here.

But it worked, oh it worked! They are now safely back in Sweden, after a hell of a week, with what we jokingly called ‘Malin's adventure travels’ . So many sights, and so many stories.

 

 

Like that time we hiked to look at a bottomless pit.

 

That time Johan bought a tiny giraffe that could not stand up. And I bought a very, very ugly wooden hippo.

 

That time we were too heavy for the canoe we sat in, and all that awkwardness when the guide and the guy with the paddle had to push... and we were too heavy anyway. But hey, we saw hippos!

 

That time the Land Rover broke down in the middle of Liwonde National Park, and we sat in the shade of a termite pile, curiously observed by impalas and water bucks. For hours. And none of us were even irritated, amazingly enough.

 

 

That time we had wild elephants VERY close up, in and amongst the huts where we were staying.

 

That time we handed over a ridiculously thick bundle of money.

 

 

That time we got to sit in a car with actual working air condition! AND seatbelts!

 

That time we thought the minibus was full to the verge of bursting, and yet five more people got crammed in.

 

That time the minibus smelled of fish.

 

That time the minibus looped Mangochi for a full hour before taking off, attempting to pick up more passengers.

 

That time a child was handed to me, through the pick-up window. No questions asked.

 

That time when I had to choose between holding on the vehicle I was sitting on, in order not to fall off, or to make sure my chitenge (that is my wrap, or skirt) was indeed covering my knees. According to the other people on the pick-up, me not flashing (gasp!) my legs where more important.

 

That time we all fell to sleep at 21:00 (most nights actually)

 

That time (those times) we drank cold beer and watched the sunset.

 

 
 
 

That time we kayaked around and island, in a kayak that had a mind of its own. 

 

That time we cooked a huge dinner, nsima and all, and had a long discussion about development politics together with friends.

 

That trip, when I was the boss.

 

 

Kommentarer

  • Johan U säger:

    Malin Adventures, great company!😊

    2014-10-28 | 12:52:46

Kommentera inlägget här: