Iris Malina

Iris | In Greek mythology, Iris (/ˈɨrɨs/; Ἶρις) is the personification of the rainbow and messenger of the gods. She is also known as one of the goddesses of the sea and the sky [...] She travels with the speed of wind from one end of the world to the other, and into the depths of the sea and the underworld. Malina | The slavic word for raspberry

On my plate

Kategori: Malawi

Todays lunch, at the collage canteen. 
 
I got a question about the eating habits of the Malawian, and what I eat when I'm here. The main food staple here is Nsima, which is the beige lump on the picture above. It is a thick porrige like thing, made of ground corn. It does not taste much in itself, and it is served with a range of different relishes (stews and sauces), which can be based on for example beans, beef, chicken or fish. You may it it with your hands, but that is quite messy.
 
I have not attempted cooking this myself (yet), because rise is also common and grown in the country. I buy vegetables and fruits at the market or from people selling it along the streets. GIANT avocados, tomatoes, onions, leafy greens, eggplant, potatoes, and bananas, papaya, lemons and melons. It is cheap and delicious, and the market is a delight! There is also Malawi produced peanut butter, honey, coffee, tea and beer which I quite happily indulge.
 

Kommentarer

  • Mikke Floriansson säger:

    Ui, can we see a GIANT avocado sometime? :-)

    2014-09-25 | 10:19:05

Kommentera inlägget här: